Outstanding Advisor Award

The Tau Beta Pi National Outstanding Advisor Award has been given to 1 recipient at each Tau Beta Pi National Convention since 1994, except for 2018 when no award was given. The prize, which includes a plaque, $1,000 to the winner, and $1,000 in the name of the winner to the dean’s discretionary fund, recognizes outstanding performance among the chapter advisors of Tau Beta Pi.  Iowa Alpha is the only chapter to have four recipients of the National Outstanding Advisor Award:

Dr. James C. Hill, 1994 National Outstanding Advisor (first advisor to receive the award). He has been an advisor since 1978 and is Iowa Alpha’s longest serving advisor (currently 42 years), he is also a Tau Beta Pi District 11 Director.

Dr. Richard J. Smith, 2004 National Outstanding Advisor.  He served as an Iowa Alpha advisor for 15 years from 1990 to 2005 and again from 2013 to the present.

Hill and Smith pic

Dr. James C. Hill       Dr. Richard J. Smith

Dr. LeVern W. Faidley, 2017 National Outstanding Advisor.  He has served as an Advisor since 2005 and Chief Advisor since 2011.

Dr. LeVern W. Faidley

Dr. Amy L. Kaleita, 2020 National Outstanding Advisor. She has served as an Advisor since 2003. She was Chief Advisor from 2004 through 2007 and has been the principal Faculty Advisor since 2011.

Dr. Amy L. Kaleita

Further information about the award is available on the Tau Beta Pi National website at: http://www.tbp.org/memb/outstandingAdvisor.cfm