Schedule of Activities

Below is the tentative list of Iowa Alpha Activities planned for the 2022 Fall Semester. Currently, it is anticipated that most meetings will be both in-person and  virtual.

 

Date/Time Event Location Open to
Aug 21 (Sun) 1:00-2:00 PM Advisory Board Meeting SIC 2206 Advisers, President, VP, Treasurer, Corresponding Secretary
Aug 21 (Sun) 5:00-7:00 PM Scholars’ Welcome Picnic Brookside Park Advisers, Cabinet, Scholars
Aug 22 (Mon) 3:00-4:00 PM Meeting with the Dean Marston 4100K Advisers, President, VP, Treasurer, Corresponding Secretary
Aug 23 (Tue) 7:00-8:00 PM Cabinet Meeting 1 Howe 1252 & Virtual Cabinet
Aug 30 (Tue) 7:00-8:00 PM General Meeting 1 Howe 1252 & Virtual General Members, Cabinet, Advisers, Scholars
Sep 6 (Tue) 6:00-7:00 PM Scholar’s Resume Workshop Howe 1252 Scholars, Cabinet, Advisers
Sep 6 (Tue) 7:00-8:00 PM General Meeting 2 Howe 1252 & Virtual General Members, Cabinet, Advisers, Scholars
Sep 11 (Sun), 1:00-3:00 PM Initiate Letter Stuffing Party Marston 2300 General Members, Cabinet, Advisers
Sep 20 (Tue) 7:00-8:00PM General Meeting 3 – Post Career Fair Celebration Howe 1252 & Virtual General Members, Cabinet, Advisers, Scholars
Sep 21 (Wed) 7:00-8:00 PM Initiation Kickoff Info Session 1 SIC 2206 & Virtual Initiates, General Members, Cabinet, Advisers
Sep 22 (Thu) 7:00-8:00 PM Initiation Kickoff Info Session 2 SIC 2206 & Virtual Initiates, General Members, Cabinet, Advisers
Sep 23 – Sep 30 Initiate Small Group Sign-up Online via Canvas Initiates
Sep 28 – Oct 2 TBP National Convention Knoxville, TN President, Vice President, Advisors
Oct 2 (Sun), 1:00-4:00 PM Pi Mile Run Design Lawn Runners and Volunteers
Oct 3 – 7 Small Group Week 1 TBD Initiates, Small Group Leaders
Oct 4 (Tue) 7:00-8:00 PM General Meeting 4 – TBD Howe 1252 & Virtual General Members, Cabinet, Advisers, Scholars
Oct 7 (Fri) 8:30–11:00 AM Free Coffee Friday 1 SIC Atrium Anyone & Everyone
Oct 9 (Sun) 1:00-3::00 PM Adopt-a-Highway Meet Howe Entrance General Members, Cabinet, Advisers, Scholars, Initiates
Oct 10 – 14 Small Group Week 2 TBD Initiates, Small Group Leaders
Mid Oct- Nov TBD Engineering Futures Sessions Virtual Initiates, General Members, Cabinet
Oct 16 (Sun) 1:00-4:00 PM Bent Polishing 1 Sukup 1215 Initiates, Cabinet
Oct 17 – 21 Small Group Week 3 TBD Initiates, Small Group Leaders
Oct 18 (Tue) 7:00-8:00 PM General Meeting 5 – TBD Howe 1252 & Virtual General Members, Cabinet, Advisers, Scholars, Initiates
Oct 21 (Fri) 8:30-11:00 AM Free Coffee Friday 2 SIC Atrium Anyone & Everyone
Oct 23 (Sun) 1:00-4:00 PM Bent Polishing 2 Sukup 1215 Initiates, Cabinet
Oct 24 – Oct 28 Small Group Week 4 (optional) TBD Initiates, Small Group Leaders
Nov 1 (Tue) 7:00-8:45 PM General Meeting 6 – Small Group Presentations Howe 1252 & Virtual General Members, Cabinet, Advisers, Initiates
Nov 1 (Tue) 8:45-9:15 PM New Member Election Howe 1252 General Members, Cabinet, Advisers
Nov 4 (Fri) 8:30–11:00 AM Free Coffee Friday 3 SIC Atrium Anyone & Everyone
Nov 15 (Tue) 7:00-8:00 PM General Meeting 7 – Cabinet Elections Howe 1252 & Virtual General Members, Cabinet, Advisers, Scholars, Initiates
Nov 29 (Tue) 7:00-8:00 PM General Meeting 8 – Senior Sendoff Howe 1252 & Virtual General Members, Cabinet, Advisers, Scholars, Initiates
Nov 29 (Tue) 8:00-8:30 PM Initiation Practice Howe 1252 Cabinet, Advisers, General Members
Nov 29 – Dec 9 Officer Transition Virtual or In-person Incumbent Officers schedule individual 1-hour meetings with Elected Officer
Dec 4 (Sun) 5:00-8:00 PM Initiation Ceremony & Banquet Sukup Atrium Initiates, Cabinet, Advisers, Guests