Tau Beta Pi Laureate Award

Iowa Alpha recipients of the Tau Beta Pi Laureate Award

The Tau Beta Pi Laureate Program was formally established by the 1984 National Tau Beta Pi Convention to annually recognize up to five Tau Beta Pi student members who outstandingly exemplify the “spirit of liberal culture in engineering colleges.” Award categories include arts, athletics, diverse achievements, and service.

Since inception of the program in 1984, nine Iowa Alpha members have received the award, more than any other Chapter. Iowa Alpha recipients include:

Lisa (Cramer) Osadciw, 1986 recipient for the arts
Lia Pierson, 1995 recipient for diverse achievements
Heather Schafroth, 1996 recipient for diverse achievements
Sarah (Bauer) Hansen, 2002 recipient for the arts
Ann (Gleason) Gilman, 2011 recipient for athletic achievements
Carl Kirpes, 2012 recipient for diverse achievements
Lisa Garrett, 2014 recipient for diverse achievements
Angadbir S. Sabherwal, 2016 recipient for diverse achievements
Amy C. Kurr. 2018 recipient for athletic achievements

Pictures of the nine recipients are shown below:

Amy C. Kurr

Angadbir S. Sabherwal        Lisa N. Garrett               Carl J. Kirpes               Ann M. Gleason

Sarah T. Bauer                  Heather D. Schafroth         Lai S. Pierson             Lisa A. Cramer